Two bomb threats only threats

Two separate bomb threats were reportedly received early this morning at Long Beach and John Wayne airports, but no explosives were found during searches. Although all threats are taken seriously, these were termed ‘non-specific’ and ‘non-credible.’ Flights are resuming this morning.

One Reply to “Two bomb threats only threats”

  1. San Diego airport’s commuter terminal was evacuated on Tuesday after baggage screeners found what initially appeared to be bomb components but turned out to be a toy, security officials said.

    Earlier in the morning two Los Angeles area airports received bomb threats, although no explosives were found, and all three airports were operating normally by mid-morning.

    A Department of Homeland Security spokesman said screeners at San Diego International Airport at around 7:45 a.m. (10:45 a.m. EDT/1445 GMT) found what appeared to be components of an explosive and called the bomb squad.

    Police found a toy and what they called “some organic material,” and the terminal was reopened at about 9:15 a.m. (12:15 p.m. EDT/1615 GMT), a Transportation Security Administration spokeswoman added.

    Two bomb threats were called at about 3 a.m. (6 a.m EDT/ 1000 GMT) to Long Beach and Orange County’s John Wayne airport, both in the Los Angeles area, airport spokespeople said. Neither search found explosives, and John Wayne opened without delays.

    Long Beach flights were delayed but the airport was open by early morning.

Comments are closed.